Keynote Speakers

Keynote Speakers at ICCCN 2021


Prof. Dimitra Simeonidou is a Full Professor at the University of Bristol, the Co-Director of the Bristol Digital Futures Institute and the Director of Smart Internet Lab. Her research is focusing in the fields of high performance networks, programmable networks, wireless-optical convergence, 5G/B5G and smart city infrastructures. She is increasingly working with Social Sciences on topics of digital transformation for society and businesses. Dimitra has been the Technical Architect and the CTO of the smart city project Bristol Is Open. She is currently leading the Bristol City/Region 5G urban pilots. She is the author and co-author of over 600 publications, numerous patents and several major contributions to standards. She has been co-founder of two spin-out companies, the latest being the University of Bristol VC funded spin-out Zeetta Networks,, delivering SDN solutions for enterprise and emergency networks. Dimitra is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the IEEE and a Royal Society Wolfson Scholar.

Ioannis Stavrakakis (IEEE Fellow) is a professor in the Dept of Informatics and Telecommunications, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (Greece) and has served as its Chair in 2013-16. He has held faculty positions with Northeastern University (1994-99) and University of Vermont (1988-94), following the completion of his Ph.D. studies from University of Virginia, USA (1988). Research interests in networking: social, mobile, ad hoc, information-centric, delay tolerant and future Internet networking; network resource allocation algorithms & protocols, traffic management and performance evaluation; (human-driven) decision making in competitive environments. Has authored over 250 publications, supervised 20 Ph.D. graduates and has been funded by USA-NSF, DARPA, GTE, BBN and Motorola (USA), Greek and EU agencies, including 2 Marie-Curie grants (post docs). He has served in NSF and EU-IST proposal panels and conference organization sponsored by IEEE, ACM, ITC and IFIP. He has served as chairman of IFIP WG6.3 and officer for IEEE Technical Committee on Computer Communications (TCCC) and on the editorial boards of Proceedings of IEEE, ACM/IEEE Transactions on Networking, Computer Communications journals, etc. He has recently been a visiting professor of University Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M) and IMDEA Networks Institute and recipient of a Chair of Excellence Comunidad de Madrid and a UC3M/Santander Chair of Excellence, a visiting professor of Politecnico di Torino and a Mercator Fellow of the German Research Foundation-DFG at the MAKI centre at TU Darmstadt.