Technical Tracks

Track 6: Orchestration Methods and Middleware in support of Big Data, and the Cloud (OMM)
Track Co-Chairs:
Prasad Calyam, University of Missouri, calyamp@missouri.edu
Boris Koldehofe, TU Darmstadt, Germany, boris.koldehofe@kom.tu-darmstadt.de


Description:
The track on original research methods and feasibility outcomes of orchestration and advanced provisioning methods on networks with attention to and in support of big data and cloud integration. Research on novel resource management methods extended as middleware and architectures that lead to cloud/fog computing, sustainable computing, and green networking with attention to optimized resource utilization is welcome. Special topic areas include edge computing/networking, secure/energy-efficient data centers, trustworthy computing/networking, and smart applications along with sustainability considerations.

Track Topics:
  • Edge/fog computing services and infrastructures
  • Middleware for cloud/fog computing applications
  • Cloud data privacy and security
  • VM placement, task scheduling for big data processing
  • In-network data processing and data aggregation
  • Application of software defined techniques to datacenters
  • Sustainable storage and cloud computing
  • Virtualization techniques for energy efficiency
  • Case studies and practical experiences for building smart environments
  • Distributed and edge networking
  • Cloud provisioning and metering
  • Theory, modeling, and performance analysis
  • Cloud/fog federation models, policies and mechanism
  • Scientific applications for clouds
  • Virtualization technologies and networks in cloud platforms
  • Content Distribution Network (CDN) and CDN federation
  • Data center networks and infrastructure
  • Traffic engineering and flow scheduling in data centers
  • Trustworthy computing and communications
  • Cognitive computing and network management
  • Cyber-physical systems
  • Networking processor and hardware designs
TPC List (tentative):
  • Yuhong Liu, Santa Clara University, USA; yhliu@scu.edu
  • Praveeen Rao, University of Missouri-Columbia, USA; praveen.rao@missouri.edu
  • Khaza Anuarul Hoque, University of Missouri-Columbia, USA; hoquek@missouri.edu
  • Yunpeng Zhang, University of Houston, USA; yzhang119@uh.edu
  • Jiaqi Zheng, Nanjing University, P. R. China; jzheng@nju.edu.cn
  • Nur Zincir-Heywood, Dalhousie University, Canada; zincir@cs.dal.ca
  • Weizhi Meng, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark; weme@dtu.dk
  • Marco Aiello, University of Stuttgart, Germany; marco.aiello@iaas.uni-stuttgart.de
  • Stefan Schulte, TU Wien, Austria; s.schulte@infosys.tuwien.ac.at
  • Andreas Reinhardt, TU Clausthal, Germany, reinhardt@ieee.org
  • Ruben Mayer, TU Munich, Germany, mayerr@in.tum.de
  • Amr Rizk, University of Ulm, Germany; amr.rizk@uni-ulm.de
  • Lin Wang, Vrije Amsterdamn, Netherlands; lin.wang@vu.nl
  • Viktoriya Degler, University of Groningen, Netherlands; v.degeler@rug.nl
  • Kaiwen Zhang, ÉTS Montréal, Canada; kaiwen.zhang@etsmtl.ca
  • Alireza Jolfaei, Federation University Australia, Australia, alireza.jolfaei@mq.edu.au
  • Changqing Luo, Virginia Commonwealth University, USA; cluo@vcu.edu
  • Kenichi Kourai, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan; kourai@ksl.ci.kyutech.ac.jp
  • Mohiuddin Ahmed, Edith Cowan University, Australia; mohiuddin.ahmed@ecu.edu.au