ICCCN 2008

Message from the General Chair

It is our great pleasure to welcome all of you to US Virgin Island (St. Thomas) August 3-7, 2008 for the 17th International Conference on Computer Communications and Networks (ICCCN 2008).

This year, we have introduced a number of new venues for collaboration, which include the Qualcomm Sponsored Tutorials that consist of tutorials covering various cutting-edge technologies and open and FREE to all conference attendees, and the WIMAX Special Report, which overviews the latest development of advanced standard efforts to the general audiences. We maintained a set of well-received features from last and past years, that is, Keynote Talks delivered by 4 world-renowned scientists, Distinguished Invited Talks delivered by 11 world-class Distinguished Invited Speakers, a Funding Forum aimed toward improving interactions between the research community and the funding agencies, and three panels showcasing the latest leading results from world-class researchers. In addition, a Best Paper Award will be given at the conference to the authors of the Best Paper recommended by the Best Paper Selection Committee.

ICCCN 2008 has received overwhelming number of paper submissions from all over the world. We maintained a low acceptance rate of 25% to preserve the high quality tradition of this conference. The success of this event would not have been possible without the extensive contributions from many volunteers. First, I would like to thank the technical program committee, led by Program Chair Dr. Byrav Ramamurthy, Program Vice-Chairs, Drs. R. (Mouli) Chandramouli, G. Manimaran, Suresh Subramaniam, and Wenye Wang, and the technical program track chairs for compiling an outstanding technical program. Second, I would like to thank the Workshop Co-Chairs, Drs. Xiaolin Li and Yunhao Liu for organizing and coordinating the 7 workshops, Tutorial Co-Chairs, Drs. Khaled El-Maleh and Qusay Mahmoud for putting together a unique tutorial program that is free to all conference attendees, and the Panel Co-Chairs, Drs. Sajal Das, Tarek Abdelzaher, and the Industry Chair Dr. Jin Li for organizing the panel sessions. Third, I would like to thank all other members in the organizing committee, Drs. Song Ci, Lin Guan, Hideki Tode, Arunita Jaekel, Vinod Vokkarane, Xingang Wang, Stephan Yang, Ismail Guvenc, Chin-Tser Huang, and so on, for their great efforts. I would especially thank Mr. Ayush Chaturvedi who is in charge of the ICCCN 2008 website development.

Finally, I would like to recognize the generosity of our sponsors: the IEEE, IEICE, Microsoft and Qualcomm. Qualcomm fully sponsored the Tutorial program, which makes all tutorial sessions open and free to all conference attendees. Furthermore, I recognize the vision and leadership of Dr. E. K. Park, Chair of the ICCCN steering committee, to lead this event into a big success.

I hope all of you enjoy ICCCN 2008 and find this a productive opportunity to learn, exchange ideas, make new contacts and renew old ones. This will be a memorable experience you will never forget.

Haohong Wang, Marvell Semiconductors, USA
ICCCN 2008 General Chair