ICCCN 2008

Dear Colleagues,
We would like to cordially invite you to join us at the ICCCN 2008 to be held in US Virgin Island (St. Thomas), USA on August 3-7, 2008. The event will provide you with the latest results on research, development and application of computer communications and networks!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in US Virgin Island!

Drs. Haohong Wang and Byrav Ramamurthy
ICCCN 2008 General Chair and Program Chair


----Highlights of the ICCCN 2008 Conference -----
August 3 - 7 2008
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands (USA) Sponsors: IEEE, IEICE, Microsoft, and Qualcomm

ICCCN is a major international conference for the presentation of original and fundamental advances in the field of Computer Communications and Networks. It also serves to foster communication among researchers and practitioners working in a wide variety of scientific areas with a common interest in improving Computer Communications and Networks. The primary focus of the conference is on new and original research results in the areas of design, implementation and applications of Computer Communications and Networks.
Monday, August 4, 2008

Keynote I: Sensing the Next Tier of the Internet
Keynote Speaker: Dr. David E. Culler (NAE Member, IEEE Fellow, ACM Fellow)
Howard Friesen Chair Professor, University of California, Berkeley
CTO, Arch Rock Corporation

Tuesday, August 5, 2008
Keynote II: Telecom Networks: The Road Ahead
Keynote Speaker: Dr. Biswanath Mukherjee (IEEE Fellow)
Child Family Chair Professor, University of California, Davis

Wednesday, August 6, 2008
Keynote III: Trends, Grand Challenges, and Opportunities in Networking Technology and Systems
Keynote Speaker: Dr. Taieb Znati
Division Director, NSF
Professor, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Thursday, August 7, 2008
Keynote IV: GENI - Global Environment for Network Innovations
Keynote Speaker: Dr. Chip Elliot (IEEE Fellow, AAAS Fellow)
Chief Engineer, BBN Technologies
GENI Project Director, NSF

(1) Speaker: Prof. Chang Wen Chen (IEEE Fellow, SPIE Fellow)
University at Buffalo, State University of New York, USA
Title: Technical Challenges in Video Coding for Future Digital Entertainment

(2) Speaker: Prof. P.R. Kumar (IEEE Fellow, NAE Member)
Franklin W. Woeltge Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Research Professor, Coordinated Science Laboratory
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA
Title: Wireless networking: From communication to sensing and actuation

(3) Speaker: Mr. Ronald Luijten
IBM Research Laboratory, Zurich, Switzerland
Title: OSMOSIS: the IBM and Corning optical switch demonstrator

(4) Speaker: Mr. Toshio Miki
Associate Senior Vice President and Managing Director of Communication Device Development Department, NTT DoCoMo, Japan

(5) Speaker: Prof. Kia Makki
Lucent Technology Professor, Telecommunications and Information Technology Institute, College of Engineering, Florida International University, USA

(6) Speaker: Dr. K. K. Ramakrishnan (IEEE Fellow, AT&T Fellow)
DMTS, AT&T Labs - Research, USA
Title: Cooperative use of P2P and Multicast for Video-on-Demand

(7) Speaker: Prof. George N. Rouskas
Professor, North Carolina State University, USA
Title: A composable network architecture for enabling cross-layer interactions

(8) Speaker: Prof. Ness B. Shroff (IEEE Fellow)
Ohio Eminent Scholar in Networking and Communications,
Professor of ECE and CSE, The Ohio State University, USA
Title: Cross-Layer Design for Wireless Networks

(9) Speaker: Prof. Mukesh Singhal (IEEE Fellow)
Gartner Group Endowed Chair in Networking, University of Kentucky, USA
Title: A New Model for Robust Routing in Large Mobile Ad Hoc Networks

(10) Speaker: Prof. Jie Wu (IEEE Distinguished Visitor)
Department of Computer Science and Engineering Florida Atlantic University, USA
Title: Mobility in Ad Hoc Wireless Networks: Friend or Foe

(11) Speaker: Prof. Guoliang (Larry) Xue
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Arizona State University, USA
Title: Multiconstrained QoS Routing: Advances and Challenges

Wednesday, August 6, 2008
Speakers: Dr. Taieb Znati, Division Director, NSF
Dr. Jie Wu, Program Director, NSF

Monday, August 4, 2008
Pervasive and Mobile Computing: Continued Challenges and Opportunities
Prof. Sajal Das, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Prof. Jie Wu, NSF, USA (Director, IEEE Distinguished Visitor)
Prof. Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Dr. Zohar Naor, Univ of Haifa, Israel
Dr. Lavy Libman, NICTA, Sydney, Australia
Dr. Dave Raymer, Motorola Labs, USA

Tuesday, August 5, 2008
Sensor Networks: Future Challenges and Applications
Prof. Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA
Prof. Jack Stankovic, University of Virginia, USA (IEEE Fellow, ACM Fellow)
Prof. Mani Srivastava, University of California, Los Angeles, USA (IEEE Fellow)
Prof. Xenofon D. Koutsoukos, Vanderbilt University, USA
Dr. Yang Yu, Motorola Labs, USA

Wednesday, August 6, 2008
Peer Assisted Content Delivery: Challenges and Opportunities
Dr. Jin Li, Microsoft Research, USA
Mr. Jay Rolls, Cox Communications, USA (VP of Technology)
Mr. Adam Johnson, Neokast, USA (CEO)
Mr. Gale Huang, PPLive, China

(FREE to all conference attendees)

Sunday, August 3
Tutorial 1
Title: Overview of Advanced Technologies in Ultra Mobile Broadband Communication Systems
Presenter: Dr. Michael Wang, Qualcomm, USA

Tutorial 2
Title: Game Theory for Wireless Networks
Presenter: Prof. Mainak Chatterjee, University of Central Florida, USA

Tutorial 3
Title: Digital Media Distribution: Trends, Challenges and Opportunities
1) Dr. Sanjoy Paul, InfoSys Technologies Limited, USA
2) Dr. Katherine Guo, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent, USA

Tutorial 4
Title: Distributed Source Coding and its Applications
1) Dr Vladimir Stankovic, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK
2) Dr. Lina Stankovic, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK
3) Dr. Samuel Cheng, University of Oklahoma, USA

WiMAX Multihop Cellular Networks: Technology and Standardization
1) Dr. Mike Hart, UK Broadband, UK
2) Dr. Zhifeng Tao, Mitsubishi Electric Research Lab, USA
3) Dr. Yuefeng Zhou, NEC Europe, UK


Speaker I: Prof. Al Bovik (IEEE Fellow, OSA Fellow, SPIE Fellow)
The University of Texas at Austin, USA
Title: Video Quality and Video Databases

Speaker II: TBA
Speaker III: TBA

There are 72 technical sessions in total, including 24 sessions from 7 workshops. As part of this exciting technical/research program, ICCCN2008 includes a sessions of presentations of top 5 papers (selected by Program Committee) and one of these papers will be selected to receive the "Best Paper Award" to be announced at the conference banquet. The paper acceptance ratio for ICCCN 2008 main program is 26%.

1. Workshop on Sensor Network (SN)
2. Workshop on Performance Modeling and Evaluation in Computer and Telecommunication Networks (PMECT)
3. Workshop on Multimedia Analysis and Processing (IMAP)
4. Workshop on IP Multimedia Communications (IPMC)
5. Workshop on Next Generation Autonomous Storage and High Performance Computing (NGASHPC)
6. Workshop on Security of Computer Communications and Networks (SoCCaN)
7. Workshop on Advanced Networking and Communications (ANC)

Please visit the web site (http://icccn.org/icccn08/Registration.aspx#) for the registration form and for more up-to-date information. The attractions of the US Virgin Island can be found at http://icccn.org/icccn08/virginIsland.aspx.